Fonds Normand Thériault

COLLECTION SUMMARY

Title: Fonds Normand Thériault

Dates: 1956 – 1989

Quantity: 1.96 m of textual documents and other documents

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH

Born on August 12, 1944 in Montreal, Joseph Normand Edgar Thériault is the son of Edgar Thériault and Alice Bergeron. He was educated at the Collège des Franciscains, Exernat classique de Longueuil between 1957 and 1963, and between 1964 and 1965. From 1963 to 1964, he studied at the Séminaire de Valleyfield. He pursued his undergraduate studies at Université de Montréal, where he obtained a Bachelor of Arts in 1965, and a Bachelor’s degree in Art History in 1968.

Normand Thériault is an important figure in the Quebec cultural scene. His career enables us to follow important transformations in contemporary, artistic culture in Quebec. A number of the exhibitions that he was responsible for in Quebec have special historical significance. These include, for example, Les moins de 35 in 1973, The Artists’ Jazz Band à Montréal and Québec 75 in 1975, 03 23 03 and Tendances actuelles in 1977, 6 Propositions and Dix mètres cube in 1979, Hier et après in 1980, Claude Tousignant: Sculptures in 1982, Aurora Borealis in 1985 and Serge Lemoyne in 1988.

Between 1968 and 1971, Normand Thériault was the art critic of La Presse newspaper. In the summer of 1971, he and Rose-Marie Arbour created the Groupe de recherche en administration de l’art (GRAA), a group attached to the Art History department of the Université du Québec à Montréal. He coordinated this group, whose purpose was to help students familiarize themselves with the field of art, its history, its politics and its social structures so that they could play an active role as versatile specialists. The publications of Médiart were central to the activities of the GRAA. The publication of books and periodicals (Médiart and Tilt) addressed various creative media in Quebec. Médiart was also at the heart of a number of exhibitions, including Québec Underground and Canada Trajectories 73 in 1973. In 1972, Médiart obtained its letters patent, and after the activities of the GRAA came to an end in 1973, Normand Thériault founded the Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, a subsidiary of Médiart. Between 1972 and 1984, he was the President and Director General of Médiart.

From 1972 to 1988, Normand Thériault was an independent curator. He was also the Curator of Contemporary Canadian Art and Contemporary Art at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts between 1978 and 1981. Between 1984 and 1985, he was the Co-Director and responsible for public activities at Galerie Aubes 3935.

Normand Thériault sat on several committees and juries. At the Canada Council for the Arts, he was a permanent jury member for short-term grants (1969-1970), a jury member for B grants (1973-1975), a member of the advisory committee (1975-1978), a member of the jury for the Art Bank (1980) and a member of a jury that supported video and cinema production centres (1985). He was a member of a working group for a museology training program at the Canadian Museums Association (1972-1973). From 1974 to 1977, he sat on the permanent advisory committee for the purchase of art works for government buildings, put in place by the Canadian Department of Public Works. He was also a jury member for grants for independent work for the ministère des Affaires culturelles du Québec (1972). He was an active member of the International Association of Art Critics (1969-1972) and a member of the international congress for the association in 1969-1970. From 1978 to 1980, he was a member of the Board of the Cinémathèque québécoise.

In addition to his involvement in various organizations, Normand Thériault participated in numerous projects as a specialist from the art field, such as the documentaries Bobo-Z-Arts, directed by Charles Binamé in 1971, as well as La fougère et la rouille ou Collage 2 and Blanc de mémoire, directed by Jacques Giraldeau in 1974 and 1995.

Normand Thériault has also taken part in editing many government documents, notably on the integration of the arts and of architecture in the environment for the Ministère des Affaires culturelles (1992) and the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec (1993). He collaborated on the Étude sur les arts visuels prepared by the Groupe-conseil en arts visuels (1995). Since 1996, Normand Thériault has been responsible for the cultural information and special reports of the daily Le Devoir.

SCOPE AND CONTENT

The fonds reflects the activities of Normand Thériault as art critic, exhibition curator and curator of contemporary art.

The fonds contains personal documents, including numerology charts and correspondence; course notes and academic work, curriculum vitae, texts and press clippings, interview transcripts, documents related to the Québec 75 exhibition; documents related to the Groupe de recherche en administration de l’art (GRAA), to Médiart and the Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, including letters patent, minutes of meetings, grant submissions, financial statements, accounting records, questionnaires, and research reports. The fonds also consists of contracts, professional correspondence, photographic documents, drawings and collages, plans, moving images, audio documents and objects.

NOTES

Source of the title: The title is based on the contents of the fonds.

Collation: The fonds also contains 598 slides, 25 photographs, 21 posters, 2 drawings, 2 collages, 11 plans, 2 videos, 65 audio documents and 3 objects.

Source of the acquisition: Normand Thériault offered the documents in the fonds to Artexte at the end of the 1980s.

Organization: The fonds was not arranged in any specific order at the time of its acquisition. The organization follows the activities of the fonds’ creator.

Language of the documents: The documents are by and large in French and English, although there are some documents in Italian and German.

Restrictions: Certain files contain nominative information (addresses, telephone numbers, etc.) and financial information. These documents and personal correspondence will not be accessible to researchers before 2030. Researchers will be unable to access certain audio or audio-visual documents until they have been migrated to more stable formats.

Finding aids: The fonds Normand Thériault file contains an interview (in French) with Rose-Marie Arbour that took place with the archivists Denis Lessard and Catherine Fournier on November 17, 2011 in relation to the fonds’ treatment, including the context around the creation of the Groupe de recherche en administration de l’art, the GRAA (1971-1973), and on the creation of Médiart. The file also includes a selective bibliography of publications by Normand Thériault, a bibliography of press clippings contained in the fonds, a list of exhibitions organized by Normand Thériault and a list of publications by Médiart.

Related documents: The Library and documentation centre of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, in Quebec City, holds a press file on Normand Thériault.

General note: Publications from the fonds Normand Thériault have been integrated into Artexte’s documentation centre collection. They are identified with a stamp with the inscription “Don de Normand Thériault.”

Treatment: The fonds was treated in 2011 by Denis Lessard (Archivist) and museology intern Catherine Fournier (UQÀM) with Artexte, and with financial assistance from the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

ACCESS

The fonds Normand Thériault may be consulted upon appointment, onsite during Artexte’s regular opening hours and following the organization’s Access Policy for its archives.

TERMS GOVERNING USE AND REPRODUCTION

Preferred citation: Fonds Normand Thériault. Collection Artexte © Normand Thériault

CONTACT INFORMATION

Librarian
Artexte
2, rue Ste-Catherine Est, suite 301
Montreal (Quebec) Canada
H2X 1K4

T : 514.874.0049
E: ac.et1490646893xetra1490646893@noit1490646893cello1490646893c.ofn1490646893i1490646893

Open to the public
Wednesday to Friday:
from 12 to 7 PM
Saturday : 12 to 5 PM


Contact

2 Sainte-Catherine East
room 301
514-874-0049
info @ artexte.ca

Fonds Normand Thériault

DESCRIPTION DU FONDS

Titre : Fonds Normand Thériault

Dates : 1956 – 1989

Quantité : 1,96 m de documents textuels et autres documents

NOTICE BIOGRAPHIQUE

Né à Montréal le 12 août 1944, Joseph Normand Edgar Thériault est le fils d’Edgar Thériault et d’Alice Bergeron. Il fait ses études classiques au Collège des Franciscains, Externat classique de Longueuil, entre 1957 et 1963 et entre 1964 et 1965. Entre 1963 et 1964, il étudie au Séminaire de Valleyfield. Il fait ses études supérieures à l’Université de Montréal, où il obtient un baccalauréat ès arts en 1965 et une licence ès lettres (histoire de l’art) en 1968.

Normand Thériault est une figure importante de la scène culturelle québécoise. Son parcours nous permet de suivre les grandes mutations de la contemporanéité artistique au Québec. Parmi les activités qui en témoignent, mentionnons qu’il est à l’origine d’importantes expositions, dont certaines sont connues comme des incontournables de l’histoire des expositions au Québec. Mentionnons, entre autres, Les moins de 35 en 1973, The Artists’ Jazz Band à Montréal et Québec 75 en 1975, 03 23 03 et Tendances actuelles en 1977, 6 Propositions et Dix mètres cube en 1979, Hier et après en 1980, Claude Tousignant : Sculptures en 1982, Aurora Borealis en 1985 et Serge Lemoyne en 1988.

Entre 1968 et 1971, Normand Thériault est critique d’art au journal La Presse. À l’été 1971, il collabore avec Rose-Marie Arbour à la création du Groupe de recherche en administration de l’art (GRAA), un groupe attaché au département d’histoire de l’art de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Il coordonne le groupe qui a pour objectif d’aider les étudiants à s’orienter dans le domaine de l’art, de son histoire, de sa politique et de ses structures sociales afin qu’ils puissent y jouer un rôle de spécialiste polyvalent. Parmi les activités du GRAA, celles des publications Médiart occupent une place centrale. Mentionnons la publication de livres et de revues (Médiart et Tilt) touchant les différents médias de création au Québec. Médiart est également à l’origine de plusieurs expositions, dont Québec Underground et Canada Trajectoires 73 en 1973. En 1972, Médiart obtient ses lettres patentes, et lorsque les activités du GRAA prennent fin en 1973, Normand Thériault fonde l’Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, une filiale de Médiart. Entre 1972 et 1984, il est président et directeur général de Médiart.

À partir de 1972 et jusqu’à 1988, Normand Thériault est commissaire indépendant. Il est également conservateur de l’art canadien contemporain et de l’art contemporain au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, entre 1978 et 1981. Entre 1984 et 1985, il est codirecteur et responsable de l’animation à la Galerie Aubes 3935.

Normand Thériault siège sur plusieurs comités et jurys. Au Conseil des arts du Canada, il est membre permanent du jury des bourses de courte durée (1969-1970), membre du jury des bourses de niveau B (1973-1975), membre de la commission consultative (1975-1978), membre du jury de la Banque d’œuvres d’art (1980) et membre du jury de l’aide à la vidéographie et au cinéma des centres de production (1985). Il est membre du groupe de travail sur le programme de formation en muséologie de l’Association des musées canadiens (1972-1973). De 1974 à 1977, il siège à la commission permanente pour l’achat des œuvres d’art dans les édifices gouvernementaux, mise sur pied par le ministère canadien des Travaux publics. Il est également membre du jury des bourses de travail libre au ministère des Affaires culturelles du Québec (1972). Il est membre actif de l’Association internationale des critiques d’art (1969-1972) et membre du comité organisateur du congrès international de l’Association en 1969-1970. Entre 1978 et 1980, il est membre du conseil d’administration de la Cinémathèque québécoise.

En plus de son implication dans divers organismes, Normand Thériault participe à plusieurs projets en tant que spécialiste du domaine des arts, dont les documentaires Bobo-Z-Arts, réalisé par Charles Binamé en 1971, ainsi que La fougère et la rouille ou Collage 2 et Blanc de mémoire réalisés par Jacques Giraldeau en 1974 et 1995.

Normand Thériault prend également part à la rédaction de plusieurs documents gouvernementaux, notamment sur l’intégration des arts à l’architecture et à l’environnement, pour le Ministère des Affaires culturelles (1992) et le Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec (1993). Il collabore à l’Étude sur les arts visuels menée par le Groupe-conseil en arts visuels (1995). Depuis 1996, Normand Thériault est successivement responsable de l’information culturelle et des cahiers spéciaux du quotidien Le Devoir.

PORTÉE ET CONTENU

Le fonds témoigne des activités de Normand Thériault, critique d’art, commissaire d’expositions et conservateur en art contemporain.

Le fonds contient des documents personnels, dont des chartes de numérologie et de la correspondance reçue; des notes de cours et des travaux universitaires, des curriculum vitae, des textes et des coupures de presse, des transcriptions d’entrevues, des documents relatifs à l’exposition Québec 75; des documents relatifs notamment au GRAA, à Médiart et à l’Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, dont des lettres patentes, des procès-verbaux, des demandes de subventions, des états financiers, des registres comptables, des questionnaires et des rapports de recherche. Le fonds comprend également des contrats, de la correspondance professionnelle, des documents photographiques, des dessins et des collages, des plans, des images en mouvement, des documents sonores et des objets.

NOTES

Source du titre composé propre : Titre basé sur le contenu du fonds.

Collation : Le fonds contient aussi 598 diapositives, 25 photographies, 21 affiches, 2 dessins, 2 collages, 11 plans, 2 vidéos, 65 documents sonores et 3 objets.

Source immédiate d’acquisition : Normand Thériault a offert les documents du fonds à Artexte à la fin des années 1980.

Classement : Le fonds ne présentait pas de classement lors de son acquisition. La classification a été créée à partir des activités du créateur du fonds.

Langue des documents : Les documents sont surtout en français et en anglais, mais aussi en italien et en allemand.

Restrictions : Certains dossiers contiennent des renseignements nominatifs (adresses, numéros de téléphone, etc.) et financiers. Ces documents ne seront pas accessibles aux chercheurs avant l’année 2030. Certains documents audio ou audiovisuels demeurent inaccessible aux chercheurs jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient transférés à des formats plus stables.

Instruments de recherche : Le dossier du fonds Normand Thériault contient un entretien (en français) avec Rose-Marie Arbour réalisé par les archivistes Denis Lessard et Catherine Fournier le 17 novembre 2011, dans le cadre du traitement du fonds, notamment sur le contexte de la création du Groupe de recherche en administration de l’art, le GRAA (1971-1973), et sur le formation de Médiart. Le dossier comprend également une bibliographie sélective des publications de Normand Thériault, une bibliographie des coupures de presse conservées dans le fonds, la liste des expositions réalisées par Normand Thériault et la liste des publications de Médiart.

Groupe de documents reliés : La Bibliothèque et centre de documentation du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, à Québec, possède un dossier de presse sur Normand Thériault.

Note générale : Les publications contenues dans le fonds Normand Thériault ont été intégrées à la collection du centre de documentation Artexte. Elles sont identifiées par un tampon à l’encre portant l’inscription « Don Normand Thériault ».

Traitement : Le fonds Normand Thériault a été traité en 2011 par l’archiviste Denis Lessard et Catherine Fournier, stagiaire en muséologie (UQÀM) avec Artexte et grâce à l’aide financier de la Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

ACCÈS

Le fonds Normand Thériault est accessible au public sur rendez-vous, pendant les heures d’ouverture régulières. Veuillez consulter la Politique d’accès aux archives pour plus de détails concernant l’accès.

CONDITIONS RÉGISSANT L’UTILISATION ET LA REPRODUCTION

Format de citation préféré : Fonds Normand Thériault. Collection Artexte © Normand Thériault

CONTACT

Bibliothécaire
Artexte
2, rue Ste-Catherine Est, salle 301
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2X 1K4

T : 514.874.0049
CE : ac.et1490646897xetra1490646897@noit1490646897cello1490646897c.ofn1490646897i1490646897


Ouvert au public

mercredi au vendredi :
de midi à 19 h
samedi : de midi à 17 h


Coordonnées

2 rue Sainte-Catherine Est
salle 301
514-874-0049
info @ artexte.ca